Here's a little-known Connecticut probate law: CT General Statutes Section 451-282 requires an individual who has possession of a will or codicil (an amendment to a will) to deliver the document to the local Probate Court with in 30 days of learning of the death of the person who signed the will or codocil. Failure to do so could result in a fine of up to $1,000 or imprisonment of up to one year, or both!
Sounds a bit harsh, but sometimes the person who has custody of a last will and testament has an incentive to keep the document hidden. So it appears that the Connecticut legislature wanted such people to think twice before doing so.
For what it's worth, in 13 1/2 years of probate practice I've never heard of anyone being prosecuted under this law. But why take the chance? Generally, the best policy is to simply get the will in to the Probate Court as quick as you can. Even if you don't have enough information to file any other probate documents yet (like the PC-200 Application to Probate a Will), just file the will and let the Court know that the rest of the required documents will be along shortly!